You are here

National Professional Driver of the Year


The National Professional Driver of the Year Award recognises the outstanding performance of a professional truck driver, including driving skill, attitude and contribution to industry improvement.


ATA Foundation Sponsors

  • BP Australia
  • Volvo Trucks
  • National Transport Insurance



The winner will receive $5,000 cash and will also be hosted to attend Trucking Australia the following year, including the ATA Foundation Sponsors’ Gala Awards Dinner.




Honour Roll: National Professional Driver of the Year

2024 Joshua Ulbrich Ross Transport
2023 Steven Broadbent Freestones Transport
2022 Denis Thompson Thompson Removals
2021 Not awarded  
2020 Russell Lee Directhaul
2019 Bernard Forssman AFD / Directhaul
2018 Barry Fitzgerald Boral Logistics NSW/ACT
2017 Danial McFee Gilbert’s Transport Services Pty Ltd
2016 Nigel Felton All Purpose Transport
2015 Aaron Busk Tytec Logistics, QLD
2014 Tom Scotney Hardy’s Haulage, QLD
2013 Robert Schalkwyk EnergyTrans, QLD
2012 Willliam Watson Wettenhalls, VIC
2011 John Hastie Blenners Transport, QLD
2010 Simon Wynne HS & SM Wynne Transport, QLD
2009 Robert Machin Hawkins Road Transport
2008 Kevin Cartwright Whiteline Transport, SA
2007 Des Docherty Eventrans
2006 Lloyd George G R George, QLD
2005 Des Bailey Herb Blanchard Haulage, NSW
2004 Merryn Edwards Lindsay Bros Transport, QLD
2003 Brian Wettern Wettern Transport Company
2002 Vern Mildren Noelvern Transport
2001 Rod Hannifey Toll Liquid Distribution
2000 Gregory Wells J N Nicholson Transport
1999 Errol Galvin Charter Freightlines
1998 Murray Cooper Direct Fuel Supplies
1997 Lawrence Harding Leighton Contractors
1996 Max Keogh Max Keogh Transport
1995 Barry Roll Kalari Transport Services
1994 Glenn Waterreus Rocky’s Own Transport