You are here

National trucking awards celebrate industry's finest

24 September 2020

The Australian Trucking Association has celebrated the achievements of outstanding industry businesses and individuals, with the presentation of the 2020 National Trucking Industry Awards.  

Livestreamed via an online broadcast to viewers across Australia and the world, the 2020 National Trucking Industry Awards recognised those who have gone above and beyond to improve the trucking industry.  

“While we are in the midst of unprecedented and stressful times, it has never been more important to celebrate the valuable contribution of the trucking industry and its people,” ATA Chair David Smith said.  

“Trucking is essential to the Australian way of life and is connected to every industry from agriculture to construction and retail. That’s why it’s important we recognise the outstanding businesses and individuals whose actions inspire others and make a positive impact,” he said.   

The 2020 National Trucking Industry Award winners are: 

  • Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry Robert Cavanagh, Cavanagh’s Transport / Stockmaster, Inverell NSW 
  • National Professional Driver of the Year Russell Lee, Directhaul, Darwin NT 
  • National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Roslyn Anderson, Wales Truck Repairs, Smithfield NSW 
  • National Training Excellence Award Chemtrans, Truganina VIC 
  • TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award SRH Milk Haulage, Rutherford NSW 

“While we were unable to present our national awards in the usual fashion, I am thrilled we were able to welcome so many people to our livestream to share in our celebrations,” Mr Smith said.  

“Our award recipients were extremely well-deserving, and I thank each winner for their contribution.   

“I would also like to extend thanks to our award judging panel, led by former ATA Chair Trevor Martyn OAM,” he said.   

The National Trucking Industry Awards are proudly sponsored by BP, Volvo, National Transport Insurance, Cummins South Pacific, Sutton Road Training Centre TISC, and AEI Transport Insurance Brokers. 

The Australian Trucking Association and its member associations collectively represent the businesses and people of the Australian trucking industry. Together, the ATA and its members are committed to safety, professionalism and viability. 



Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry 

Award sponsors: BP, National Transport Insurance, Volvo Trucks   

Robert Cavanagh, Cavanagh’s Transport / Stockmaster, Inverell NSW  

Well known in the trucking industry as an expert in livestock transport, Robert is Managing Director of Cavanagh’s Transport / Stockmaster in Inverell, NSW.  

Robert has more than 35 years’ experience in the industry and is an active and committed member of state and national rural road freight transport associations. He is a strong advocate for safety, technology and animal welfare and is often recognised for his future thinking, ability to adapt to change, and an early adopter of technology and modern business practices.  

Robert has served as President of the Livestock, Bulk and Rural Carriers Association, and has also held the roles of President, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary of the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association. In 2018 he was awarded an ALRTA life membership in recognition of his significant contribution to the organisation and to the promotion of rural transport as a sustainable, responsible and safe contributor to Australia.   


National Professional Driver of the Year 

Award sponsors: BP Australia, National Transport Insurance, Volvo Trucks  

 Russell Lee, Directhaul, Darwin NT  

 Russell is a road train driver with Directhaul in Darwin, NT, and has served the business for more than 30 years.  

 Russell is a role model at the company and is described by his colleagues and management as safe, dependable, professional, trustworthy and hardworking. He is well-known for his extremely positive influence on Directhaul’s workplace culture.  

 Russell is a well-respected senior driver in the industry, and holds valuable knowledge and experience of driving conditions, job requirements, risks and challenges that can be faced in the various geographic regions of the Northern Territory.  

 In his 32 years with Directhaul, Russell has driven an estimated 11 million kilometres and delivered more than 509 million litres of fuel.  

 In 2019, Russell was a finalist for the ATA’s National Professional Driver of the Year award.   


National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year 

Award sponsor: Cummins South Pacific  

Roslyn Anderson, Wales Truck Repairs, Smithfield NSW  

Rosyln is Chief Financial Controller at Wales Truck Repairs in Smithfield, NSW. Roslyn grew up around trucks and has a longstanding passion for the industry.  

In her time with Wales Truck Repairs, Roslyn has been responsible for multiple divisions and keeps a pulse on the latest issues by attending a range of industry events. Demonstrating a proven commitment to her business and relevant industry matters, Roslyn is a member of the Transport Women Australia and Women in Transport Australia networks. 

In 2018, Rosyln became a Transport Women Australia board member and was named winner of the Road Freight NSW Woman of the Year Award. Roslyn was a finalist for the 2019 National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year.  


National Training Excellence Award 

Award Sponsor: Sutton Road Training Centre – TISC  

Chemtrans, Truganina VIC  

Chemtrans is a wholly owned division of K&S Corporation, specialising in the safe delivery of dangerous and hazardous goods throughout Australia.  

In 2017, after experiencing an increase in minor incident rates and near-misses involving deliveries of Class 8 corrosive liquids, it was realised that the company’s current resources were lacking.  

As a result, Chemtrans developed a dangerous goods bulk tanker load/unloading simulator. The simulator enables the company’s trainers to place drivers in real-life situations without risk, enabling them to experience complex situations. The training involves theoretical and practical components to enhance drivers’ knowledge in Class 8 Corrosive Liquid distribution tasks, hazards involved and controls to be implemented.  

Since the simulator implementation, Chemtrans has recorded a 51 per cent decrease in incidents.    


TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award 

Award Sponsor: AEI Transport Insurance Brokers  

SRH Milk Haulage, Rutherford NSW  

SRH Milk Haulage is a family owned business that began with one truck and tanker in 1996 and has grown to a business with 63 trucks and 110 tankers, servicing areas in NSW, Western Australia and Victoria.  

SRH Milk Haulage has been a member of TruckSafe since 1998 and believe that their accreditation has helped shaped the business they are today in ensuring they are doing the right thing for their employees and customers.  

SRH Milk Haulage is always looking at ways to use the latest technology in their fleet and since February 2019 have installed Seeing Machines Guardian in all new trucks.