You are here

Don Watson Memorial Award

The Don Watson Memorial Award is presented by Noelene Watson to the person who has given conspicuous service to the Australian trucking industry.

The winner is selected from a range of exceptional people who do not need to nominate to be considered. The Don Watson Award is generally awarded to a representative of an industry supplier. In this way, it is differentiated from the award for an Outstanding Contribution, which is awarded to individuals employed in trucking operations or trucking groups.

Don Watson grew up next door to the family’s Golden Fleece Service Station and served petrol and washed the trucks after school. When he took over the trucking business from his father, he grew the business from a livestock carrier to a refrigerated transport business. Don was dedicated to giving back to the industry he loved.

He promoted the need for associations which would bring like-minded people together. Outside work, Don raced cars. He drove Porsches, Group E Production Sedans and Group A Touring Cars.

The industry lost a great advocate and mate in Don Watson when he was competing at the 1994 Bathurst one-thousand touring car races.


A trophy, media publicity and accolades from the many industry representatives attending the ATA Foundations Sponsors Gala Dinner at the ATA’s annual national conference, Trucking Australia, where the winner is announced.

Honour Roll: Don Watson Memorial Award

2024 Denis Robertson Past ATA Chair
2023 Ron Finemore AO Ron Finemore Transport
2022 Darren Nolan Nolan’s Interstate Transport
2021 Not awarded  
2020 Not awarded  
2019 Not awarded  
2018 Frances Ross R & A Ross Transport
2017 Ray Ablett Abletts Transport
2016 Doug McMillan D & P Haulage
2015 Paul ‘Harro’ Harrison Paul Harrison Transport
2014 Tim Wedlock Austbrokers AEI
2013 Simon Skazlic K&S Freighters
2012 Not awarded  
2011 Peter Armstrong Prime Media Magazine
2010 Mario Colosimo BPW Transpec
2009 Ross McDonald Cummins South Pacific
2008 Peter Rocke Peter Rocke & Associates
2007 Andrew Wright Paccar and Kenworth brand
2006 Owen Driscoll NTI
2005 Max Winkless Max Winkless Transport
2004 Peter Lawrence Thermo King
2003 Stephen Brown 1st Fleet
2002 Bridgestone Australia & South Pacific Tyres  
2001 Des Ind K & S Corporation
2000 Bruce McKee International Trucks
1999 Ron Jowett Isuzu
1998 Legh Winser K & S Corporation
1997 Bram Van der Schaar Volvo Trucks Australia
1996 Volvo Trucks Australia, International Trucks Australia and Mercedes Benz Australia  
1995 Chris Davies