You are here

Trucking workshop finalists announced

28 September 2011

The finalists for the 14th annual Craig Roseneder Award for Technical and Maintenance Excellence in the Workshop were announced today by the Australian Trucking Association (ATA).

The award is sponsored by Castrol, the world’s leading supplier of specialist lubricant solutions.

ATA Chairman David Simon said the ATA presented the award each year to recognise the professionalism of the men and women who work behind the scenes in the trucking industry’s workshops.

“The Craig Roseneder Award is a crucial part of the ATA’s efforts to reward commitment, achievement and excellence in the industry,” Mr Simon said.

The Craig Roseneder Award finalists for 2011 are:

• Brian Murphy – Fleet Manager, DirectHaul, Berrimah, NT;
• Chris Gass - Trailer Fleet Manager, Bunker Freight Lines, Smythesdale, Vic; and
• Darren Wales – Managing Director, Wales Truck Repairs, Smithfield, NSW.

This year’s winner of the Craig Roseneder Award will receive a scholarship to attend the American Trucking Associations’ Maintenance Council meeting in 2012 and $1,500 in spending money.

The winner will also be presented with an individual trophy as well as complimentary registration for the 2012 ATA/ARTSA Technical and Maintenance Conference.

The winner will be announced on Monday 10 October at the Castrol Awards Dinner, held as part of the 2011 Paccar and Dealer Technical and Maintenance Conference, presented by the ATA and the Australian Road Transport Suppliers’ Association. The conference will be held from 10-12 October at the Australian Technology Park in Sydney.

The details of the finalists are attached. For more information on the Technical and Maintenance Conference, and the Craig Roseneder Award, visit

Media contact: Bill McKinley    02 6253 6900 / 0488 292 823

Brian Murphy – DirectHaul
Berrimah, NT

Brian set a high standard for himself from the very beginning of his career, winning Apprentice of the Year award in the Northern Territory in the first and fourth years of his diesel mechanic apprenticeship.

Brian has now been the Fleet Manager at DirectHaul since 2005. He has introduced many health and safety procedures including vehicle fault reporting, isolation lockouts and emergency management of tanker rollovers.

He has implemented a number of initiatives to improve the business and customer service, including the design of a rack suitable to hold eight drums - allowing larger orders to be delivered to remote communities.

Brian has also designed an oil crusher filter system to help make waste oil disposal more effective. The system has helped DirectHaul reduce costs and has also made the process more environmentally friendly.

Chris Gass – Bunker Freight Lines
Smythesdale, VIC

Chris has been an active participant in the trucking industry for over 28 years. He is the Trailer Fleet Manager for Bunker Freight Lines, and is dedicated to equipment reliability and safety.

As a respected staff member at Bunker, Chris has been a leader in the implementation of a number of trailer innovations, including wiring standards and disc brake technology.

Chris is committed to improving the safety of the industry. He was an early supporter of the TruckSafe program and was involved in the pilot of NHVAS.

Chris has a commitment to ensuring his staff are up-to-date with the latest in training, and was instrumental in delivering the AUR30605 Certificate III in Automotive Specialist apprenticeship scheme.

Darren Wales – Wales Truck Repairs
Smithfield, NSW

Darren is the Managing Director of Wales Truck Repairs. He has been an integral part of this family business since 1988, when he completed a trade apprenticeship as a panel beater/spray painter.

Darren is committed to setting high industry standards and was instrumental in the formation of the Australian Heavy Vehicle Repairers’ Association (AHVRA).

He has also implemented a significant environmental program by designing three large truck wash bays that recycle all the water.

Respected by his staff, Darren is actively involved with the community and is a member of several associations including ATA NSW, the Motor Traders’ Association of NSW, AHVRA and the Australian Institute of Management.