You are here

ATA thanks outgoing TruckSafe Chair

24 September 2021
The Australian Trucking Association has thanked TruckSafe Chair Ferdie Kroon for his services to TruckSafe and the industry, following his resignation from the board.  
By industry, for industry, TruckSafe is an award-winning business and risk management system improving the safety and professionalism of trucking operators nationwide. It is recognised for its comprehensive industry safety standards, including a robust third-party auditing system. 
“A passionate industry and safety advocate, Ferdie was first elected to the role in 2017. In his time as TruckSafe Chair, he led TruckSafe to achieve great things,” ATA Chair David Smith said.  
“Ferdie oversaw the updating of TruckSafe’s standards to align with the industry Master Code and led the scheme to win two National Road Safety Awards in 2020. 
“Ferdie’s efforts and leadership is recognised across the industry. On behalf of the ATA, TruckSafe and the wider community, I thank Ferdie for his service,” he said. 
TruckSafe director and operator of Fellows Bulk Transport, Paul Fellows, has been appointed as Interim Chair. 
“Ferdie has been an outstanding chair and an active member of the TruckSafe board for many years. I am very honoured to be appointed as Interim Chair,” Mr Fellows said.  
“Our board is made up of people who have donated their time and energy to improving the safety and professionalism of the industry, as well as the health and wellbeing of our dedicated staff.” 
Mr Fellows said he was looking forward to applying his on-the-road experience to the role. 
“I’m thankful that I have the opportunity to continue driving B-doubles in my company on a backup basis. This gives me the ability to know first-hand what is going on and to bring this information into the boardroom,” he said.